It was 9:30 at night and Anna Young, 42, was sitting on her bed typing and strategizing on her laptop. She was opening her own business and going to law school and had just returned from working in Europe at her job as a banker—she had many balls in the air.

Read more of Anna Young's story here.

Share this

font size Down Arrow Up arrow

NYM Governance

Board of Trustees


  • John E. Carrington, Chairman
  • James Perkins, Vice Chairman
  • Robert Rodgers, Jr., Treasurer
  • Matthew Vetri, Secretary
  • Barbara Capozzi, Assistant Treasurer
  • Linda Malinskas, Assistant Secretary

Board Members

  • Kathleen Burke, Esq.
  • Laura L. Forese, M.D.
  • Fred Hugue
  • Leslie Jacobson, Ph.D.
  • Phyllis R. Lantos
  • Lawrence McGaughey, Esq.
  • Hon. J. Kevin McKay
  • Bishop Jane Allen Middleton
  • Charles O’Neill
  • James Perkins
  • Robert Rodgers, Jr.
  • Anthony Saleh, M.D.
  • Anthony Schlesinger
  • Rev. Robert O. Simpson
  • Matthew Vetri
  • Karen Westervelt
  • Gary Zuar


  • Mark J. Mundy, President and Chief Executive Officer
  • Prasad Gudavalli, M.D., President of the Medical Board
  • Helen Sayegh, President of the Auxiliary

Administrative Staff Team

Left to right:

  • Front row: Carol Vargas, assistant vice president; Stanley Sherbell, M.D., executive vice president for medical affairs; Lyn S. Hill, vice president for communication and external affairs; Lauren Yedvab, senior vice president.
  • Back row: Richard Ortiz, vice president for finance; Colleen McManus, vice president; Steven Silber, D.O., vice president for medical affairs; Dennis Buchanan, vice president for human resources; Mark J. Mundy, president and chief executive officer.

  • Missing from photo: Michael Breslin, senior vice president for finance, Rebecca Flood, R.N., senior vice president for nursing; Jennifer Donovan, assistant vice president for ambulatory care.

Medical Board

  • Prasad Gudavalli, M.D., President
  • Hiram Cortes, M.D., Vice President
  • Soheila Jafari-Kermanshahi, M.D., Secretary/Treasurer

Executive Committee

  •  Joseph Schianodicola, M.D., Chair of Executive Committee, Chair of Anesthesiology
  • Hani Ashamalla, M.D., Chair of Radiation Oncology
  • Emil Baccash, M.D.
  • Joseph Bove, M.D., Chair of Emergency Medicine
  • Hiram Cortes, M.D.
  • Francis DeVito, M.D.
  • Alan Dosik, M.D.
  • Stephen J. Peterson, M.D., Chair of Medicine
  • Santo Fiasconaro, M.D.
  • Theodore Gaeta, M.D.
  • Steven Garner, M.D., Department of Radiology
  • Prasad Gudavalli, M.D.
  • Sanford Lederman, M.D., Chair of Obstetrics, Chair of Gynecology
  • Gerard Lombardo, M.D.
  • Antonio Mascatello, M.D.
  • Parag Mehta, M.D.
  • Rameen Miarrostami, M.D.
  • Rabia Mir, M.D., Chair of Pathology, Chair of Clinical Laboratories
  • Pramod Narula, M.D., Chair of Pediatrics
  • Kotresha Neelakantappa, M.D.
  • Anjun Rau, M.D.
  • Miran Salgado, M.D., Chair of Neurosciences
  • David Schifter, M.D.
  • Robert S. Seminara, M.D.
  • Anthony Tortolani, M.D. Chair of Cardiothoracic Surgery, Chair of Surgery


  • Mark J. Mundy